last update: 2017-07-31

Germany is member state of the European Union (EU). It consists of 16 federal states (Bundesländer). Legislation is devided between the European Parliament, the Federal parliament (Bundestag) and parliaments of the federal states.

Federal administrational duties are mainly directed to national and international harmonisation, cooperation between federal states and development of guidelines.

Federal Ministries in Germany have changed their name and duties in the last decade. Responsibilities for toxicological topic are widely distributed between the ministries and allocated Institutes listed below.